2016-17 WCHA Media Poll: My Picks

Don’t have a lot of time to write this now, so I’ll just throw this on the blog quickly, but: The WCHA men’s hockey media poll was just released. I compiled it again. It was fun! Really!

Here are the results on the Pioneer website. Bowling Green was pretty overwhelmingly the favorite. Bemidji State, meanwhile, was middle-of-the road. Beavers finished as high as fourth and as low as eighth. So sixth seems about right.

Here are my picks to win the league and the awards. I’ll update later with explanations, we’re on the media conference call shortly.

Order of Finish
1. Bowling Green
2. Minnesota State
3. Michigan Tech
4. Bemidji State
5. Northern Michigan
6. Ferris State
7. Alaska
8. Lake Superior
9. Alabama Huntsville
10. Alaska Anchorage

WCHA Preseason Player of the Year: Gerald Mayhew, Sr., F, Ferris State
Preseason Newcomer of the Year: Hampus Sjodahl, Fr., F, Bemidji State

F-Gerald Mayhew, Ferris State
F-Gerry Fitzgerald, BSU
F-Dominik Shine, Northern Michigan
D-Mark Friedman, Bowling Green
D-Matt Roy, Michigan Tech
G-Gordon Defiel, LSSU