Friday Afternoon Reading: North Dakota (UPDATE: NOW WITH LINES!)

(Today’s music courtesy of Parquet Courts. One of my favorite albums of 2013. I suggest you listen to it, and you really have no reason not to since it’s streaming for free on the internet.)

Hey there. If you haven’t heard, it’s North Dakota Friday. As of 9:40 a.m. today there were 200 tickets left for tonight’s game, not sure what the availability is as I write this (around 1 p.m.).

The Beavers are, rightly, excited for this weekend’s series. I’m expecting it to be the biggest home crowd of the year for BSU — even bigger than the Minnesota series at the beginning of the season — so the Beavers want to put on a good show for the crowd here in Bemidji.

BSU should greet said fans with an improved power play that scored four times in last weekend’s series sweep of Lake Superior State. This after going 0-for-9 on the PP against Northern Michigan.

The Fighting Sioux UND, on the other hand, is on a seven game winning streak but the players remember well the last time they were in Bemidji. It was a 1-0 BSU win in 2011 — which isn’t that long ago but after the past two seasons the Beavers have had combined with all the changes in the college hockey world it seems like ages.

The Bemidji State women are also in action this afternoon against Wisconsin — I’m going to try and catch at least a little bit of that game if I can make it over there.

The Beavers had a bad time in Madison in December and would very much like to show the No. 2 Badgers that they can compete with them.

Stay tuned here later for lines from the men’s game and maybe another blog post if I can swing it. No promises…

Lines for tonight’s game right here. Walsh starting for Wilkins today for BSU. Not totally a surprise since Serratore said he wasn’t sure who would get the nod.

23 Markus Gerbrandt–13 Cory Ward–28 Brendan Harms
18 Radoslav Illo–12 Jeff Jubinville–16 Danny Mattson
29 Phil Brewer–27 Mitch Cain–22 Charlie O’Connor
9 Phillip Marinaccio–6 Nate Arentz–26 Bob Kinne
14 D.J. Jones–4 Sam Windle
25 Ruslan Pedan–7 Matt Prapavessis
3 James Hansen–11 Graeme McCormack
30 Andrew Walsh
33 Reid Mimmack


21 Brendan O’Donnell–16 Mark MacMillan–15 Michael Parks
28 Stephane Pattyn–13 Connor Gaarder–11 Derek Rodwell
9 Drake Caggiula–19 Rocco Grimaldi–27 Luke Johnson
29 Bryn Chyzyk–17 Colten St. Clair–7 Wade Murphy
18 Dillon Simpson–24 Jordan Schmaltz
5 Nick Mattson–6 Paul LaDue
20 Gage Ausmus–2 Troy Stecher
31 Zane Gothberg
33 Clarke Saunders